Excerpts from Review in Speyerer Morgenpost

Michael Flaksman, cello and Ulrich Urban, piano: December 13, 2004

“…a phenomenal enhancement of this concert was Circling (for cello & piano) by Elizabeth Austin, who lives mainly in The United States but who is also at home in Mannheim. The music describes four stages in a relationship between two people, who are symbolically portrayed by the performers. Short sparkling sounds as well as more serene, cantabile phrases mark this work equally. Thanks to the convincing interpretation by Flaksman and Urban, the listener was well able to distinguish the varying emotional stages portrayed in the music. Hearty applause followed the program, earning the audience several encores…”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: